Listing 1 - 10 of 47 << page
of 5
>>
Sort by

Book
Book destruction from the medieval to the contemporary
Authors: ---
ISBN: 9781137367655 Year: 2014 Publisher: Basingstoke Palgrave Macmillan


Book
The book thieves : the nazi looting of Europe's libraries and the race to return a literary inheritance
Author:
ISBN: 9780735221239 9780735221246 9780735221222 0735221243 Year: 2018 Publisher: New York, N.Y. Penguin Books

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Bookmark

Abstract

'A most valuable book.'—Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis'systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves—Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe's libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day. Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin's public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.


Book
Destruction des archives
Author:
Year: 2002 Publisher: Bruxelles Archives et bibliothèques de Belgique


Book
Pourquoi brûle-t-on des bibliothèques?
Author:
Year: 2013 Publisher: Villeurbanne Presses de l'enssib


Book
Virtual visits to lost libraries : reconstruction of and access to dispersed collections: papers presented on 5 November 2010 at the CERL Seminar hosted by the Royal Library of Denmark, Copenhague
Authors: --- ---
ISBN: 9780956999603 Year: 2011 Publisher: London CERL


Book
Burning books
Author:
ISBN: 9780230553286 0230553281 134936309X 9786612050428 1282050427 0230583660 Year: 2008 Publisher: Basingstoke Palgrave Macmillan

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Bookmark

Abstract

Book burning is one of the taboos of modernity, due in part to its association with the Nazi book fires. This event provides the focus for a study of the broader history of destroying a book by fire, arguing for a more complex and nuanced understanding of the uses of book burning in the literary culture of the twentieth-century.


Book
Livres pillés, lectures surveillées : les bibliothèques françaises sous l'Occupation
Author:
ISBN: 9782070453979 Year: 2013 Volume: 224 Publisher: Paris Gallimard

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Bookmark

Abstract

Dans la France de 1940 à 1944, une France qui est à la fois celle de l'occupant nazi et celle du régime de Vichy, les livres sont pillés. A la différence des archives des ministères (Guerre, Affaires étrangères, Intérieur, Justice) et des musées, peu de bibliothèques publiques sont l'objet du pillage par l'occupant, à l'exception des alsaciennes et des mosellanes, germanisées et propriétés du Reich. Le vol de masse, nazi mais aussi vichyste, frappe en revanche, dès juin 1940, les bibliothèques institutionnelles - juives, slaves, maçonnes - mais aussi privées, celles des premiers ennemis du Reich (les grandes familles juives, les Allemands exilés, les hommes politiques du Front populaire). Puis le pillage accompagne ordinairement les rafles. Plus de dix millions de livres prennent le chemin de l'Allemagne. Le régime de Vichy, de son côté, surveille les livres, les bibliothèques et les lecteurs, sous la houlette d'une Bibliothèque nationale devenue le parangon de l'ordre nouveau, instrument de la collaboration d'Etat aux mains de Bernard Faÿ. En regard, Martine Poulain esquisse les portraits de quelques grandes figures, notamment Jean Laran, conservateur des Estampes, administrateur de la Bibliothèque nationale lors de l'invasion et de la Libération, et Marcel Bouteron, inspecteur général, deux délicieux érudits à l'éthique infaillible, qui surent, face à la brutalité, à la bêtise et à la mesquinerie des temps, prendre le chemin juste et agir dans la droiture.

Listing 1 - 10 of 47 << page
of 5
>>
Sort by