Narrow your search
Listing 1 - 10 of 45 << page
of 5
>>
Sort by

Book
Book destruction from the medieval to the contemporary
Authors: ---
ISBN: 9781137367655 Year: 2014 Publisher: Basingstoke Palgrave Macmillan


Book
Destruction des archives
Author:
Year: 2002 Publisher: Bruxelles Archives et bibliothèques de Belgique


Book
Pourquoi brûle-t-on des bibliothèques?
Author:
Year: 2013 Publisher: Villeurbanne Presses de l'enssib


Book
The book thieves : the nazi looting of Europe's libraries and the race to return a literary inheritance
Author:
ISBN: 9780735221239 9780735221246 9780735221222 0735221243 Year: 2018 Publisher: New York, N.Y. Penguin Books

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Bookmark

Abstract

'A most valuable book.'—Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis'systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves—Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe's libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day. Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin's public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it.


Book
Nordic Latin manuscript fragments : the destruction and reconstruction of medieval books
Authors: ---
ISBN: 9781472478580 1472478584 Year: 2017 Publisher: London Routledge

Loading...
Export citation

Choose an application

Bookmark

Abstract

Much of what is known about the past often rests upon the chance survival of objects and texts. Nowhere is this better illustrated than in the fragments of medieval manuscripts re-used as bookbindings in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Such fragments provide a tantalizing, yet often problematic glimpse into the manuscript culture of the Middle Ages. Exploring the opportunities and difficulties such documents provide, this volume concentrates on the c. 50,000 fragments of medieval Latin manuscripts stored in archives across the five Nordic countries of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. This large collection of fragments (mostly from liturgical works) provides rich evidence about European Latin book culture, both in general and in specific relation to the far north of Europe, one of the last areas of Europe to be converted to Christianity. As the essays in this volume reveal, individual and groups of fragments can play a key role in increasing and advancing knowledge about the acquisition and production of medieval books, and in helping to distinguish locally made books from imported ones. Taking an imaginative approach to the source material, the volume goes beyond a strictly medieval context to integrate early modern perspectives that help illuminate the pattern of survival and loss of Latin manuscripts through post-Reformation practices concerning reuse of parchment. In so doing it demonstrates how the use of what might at first appear to be unpromising source material can offer unexpected and rewarding insights into diverse areas of European history and the history of the medieval book.--


Book
Virtual visits to lost libraries : reconstruction of and access to dispersed collections: papers presented on 5 November 2010 at the CERL Seminar hosted by the Royal Library of Denmark, Copenhague
Authors: --- ---
ISBN: 9780956999603 Year: 2011 Publisher: London CERL

Listing 1 - 10 of 45 << page
of 5
>>
Sort by